Eben Wood

L. Ward Abel has published hundreds of poems online and in print, along with one full collection and eleven chapbooks of poetry, including The Rainflock Sings Again (Unsolicited Press, 2019).

All Our Fools 
by L. Ward Abel

These are times that books will show  
how we hurried a fall.  
I don’t want to see it, but something 
tells me the wren’s eye and the sky 
are the same and that from any angle  

you can back into barbed wire. So I hide  
here under trees waiting out the war 
camped on what should never become 
a ground full of relatives blooming 
up and through a holy mound and 
dedicated to all our fools.